Which is Better: Pre-or-Post Workout Noms?

There’s plenty of argument in both directions. My favorite advice involves chocolate milk post-workout, but that’s perhaps just me.

I stumbled across this article when I was searching for further advice on the topic, since I’ve recently (about 18 hours ago) decided to take up running in the mornings. Today, I admit, I didn’t eat before my… activity. (I hesitate to call it a run, since I’m sure I didn’t actually run more than a quarter of the whole mile track.) In retrospect, maybe I should have. The article points out that morning exercise often comes after something like a 10-hour fast. You’re running on fumes, the article says. I wonder if that might have anything to do with my exhaustion afterwards?

On the other hand, it is recommended that you allow some time to digest before you embark on your exercise routine, since activity directs blood flow away from your digestive system, which can cause problems. How early do I have to get up and eat before I can work out? Will I have to start getting up at 5:00 a.m. for a 6:30 jog? Because I barely managed to drag myself out of bed by 6:15 today. I imagine it will get easier, but how much of that will be ‘getting used to’ the schedule? How much of it will be eating right? Perhaps time will tell. Until then, I could go for a banana…

Leave a Reply

