Creamy Chicken Sandwich [Recipe]

I feel like I’ve been running out of food lately; when in fact I’m just running out of prepared things. I’m going through an ‘I hate cooking’ kick, which makes eating healthy a bit more diffcult.

I’m not sure today’s lunch qualifies as ‘healthy,’ but it was certainly delicious! It was worth the time to cook and clean up, in my opinion, so I’m going to make note of it here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen chicken breast, thawed and sliced horizontally into 1/2-cm thick slices
  • 1/4 c. Alfredo sauce (I used Ragu Four Cheese, but any should work.)
  • 8-10 green olives, roughly chopped
  • 1 canned artichoke heart
  • 2 slices dense/sturdy bread. (I used the Farmhouse Whole Wheat from Zingerman’s Bakehouse; just make sure that it can hold up under moisture. Ordinary sandwich bread will not cut it.)
  • 1 small Roma tomato
  • 2 tbsp. skim milk

To Make:

First, a note: Most of what I used were leftover bits and pieces. I had an artichoke heart that needed used, which didn’t get used on a salad I had made a few days prior. There was only a little bit of Alfredo sauce left in the jar, and I used the skim milk to shake with it and loosen it enough to pour the most I could out. The olives were all that was in a tiny can I bought at the dollar store. All quantities can, of course, be adjusted to taste.

  1. Chop the artichoke heart into peices approximately the same size as the chopped olives, then throw them in a skillet with the milk and alfredo sauce. Heat slowly until bubbling, making sure to regularly stir/whisk the ingredients together.
  2. Once bubbling, lay the sliced chicken in the sauce. Simmer, covered. The thin chicken should cook fairly quickly. Turn at least once, and check for done-ness. Remove the chicken, and whisk the remaining sauce back together. Set on low to thicken.
  3. Slice the roma tomato and layer onto a slice of bread. Spoon about half of the artichoke and olives from the pan onto the tomatoes, spread evenly. Add a single layer of chicken to the sandwich, then add the top slice of bread. No other dressings are needed.
  4. Eat.

creamychickensandwich

I had enough slices of chicken to cover the sandwich and still have some leftover, which I put with the remaining sauce in the refrigerator for later.

The whole sandwich was absolutely delicious.

Leave a Reply

